Minneapolis Bike Map Painting: Loring Park, Downtown, North East

This is a mixed-media map of downtown streets and bike routes from 2011.  The map encompasses Loring Park (where I lived), downtown Minneapolis,  and North East Minneapolis (where my painting studio was).  It began with dozens of printouts from the Minneapolis park board website .  I then put the pieces together like a giant puzzle and began painting over the printouts.  I personalized the map by highlighting areas and routes I frequented.

Minneapolis Bike Map Painting

Minneapolis Bike Map, 60″ x 40″, Acrylic on Art Board 

Originally I had planned to make the bike routes more prominent and intended the map to be more informational, but as I worked on the painting it seemed to take on a life of its own.

Bike Map Detail

Bike Map (Detail, Loring Park and the mighty Mississippi)

I like to describe it as a semi-giant work on paper…. because it seems especially giant if you live in a 400 sq ft studio apartment.  click here for info on buying.

Leave a Reply

